Rotating a group of sprites - SOLVED

Apr 15, 2010 at 1:26 AM

I have run into a bit of a snag, and was hoping that you fine folks could help me out.

I have a group of sprites (each with their own geometry and rotations around their origin points) that I want to rotate as a group, around the groups origin.

What I would think to do is copy their geometry to a new body (for the group) using a positional and rotational offset, and rotate the new body... but that doesn't work :(

What should I do?

Apr 15, 2010 at 4:00 PM

Ok, I am going to give some more detail so I don't sound like a total noob.

I am creating an object builder (as part of my game's world builder) where you can add single sprites to a larger group to form a larger more complex object.

What I do is I add each sprite (with their own position and rotation about their origin point) to the group. I take the sprites geometry to create new geometry for the group using the offset position and rotation (with the offset rotation set to 0, because as I said in the post above that setting it to the rotation, or relative rotation doesn't have the desired effect) to make sure the geometry is in the right position. Then I can alter the groups position and rotation as I wish.

Unfortunately this didn't quite work out as the sprites rotation is updated based on it's geometry (so that it moves with the group), and the sprites original rotation is lost.

So I added a 'texture' rotation to the sprite, and when moving the geometry over to the new body, set the texture rotation to the sprites rotation so as to preserve the rotation that was lost.