Body/Geom Scaling & AABB Rotation

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jun 18, 2010 at 4:41 PM

Hello All,

I have a couple quick questions again :)
I did look through the forums and couldn't find an answer and I'm fairly new to the gaming/physics scene so here goes:

1.  Using the engine, I was able to create an in game editor and its working beautifully.  However, I want gamers to be able to scale my entities when editing.  From 0.1f to 1f.   I can scale polygons in realtime (because of a forum post), but I can't seem to figure out scaling Rectangles and circles at runtime.
Is there a way to scale rectangles, circles, etc in realtime without having to recreate the Body and respective Geom?

2.  I'm using the "Hairdryer" from the demo project to create a fan in my game.
How do I rotate the AABB with the Geom.Rotation?  I saw something on the web to use OBB, but I don't see that in Farseer.
Is AABB a good fit for my situation, or should I use a different approach?

Code examples pretty please!

Thank you in advance,

Nick

Jun 20, 2010 at 6:27 AM
I'm not sure about the first part, you could try destroying and recreating it on the fly if they don't want to scale? About AABB's, you don't rotate them. That's the point. They are axis aligned (hence the AA). Why would you want to do that? They are used as part of an algorithm to calculate collision's, so you shouldn't want to mess with them. Turn off Debug view (PhysicsSimulatorView) and you don't see them any more, which is maybe what you want.
Jun 20, 2010 at 4:08 PM

Thank you Jerky for the reply.

1.  If that is the only way to scale Bodies and Geoms, then that's what I'll have to do.

2.  I do get the AABB concept now and I assumed that OBB (the object aligned bounding box) is what I need, however I don't see that in the physic's framework.