Joint problem Farseer 3.0

Jul 22, 2010 at 9:20 PM
Edited Jul 22, 2010 at 9:23 PM
Hi, I'm fairly new to Farseer but I've been working on a vehicle that uses prismatic joints for suspension and revolute joints to attach wheels to the ends of these. When I drive it left and right and maybe the vehicle bounces a little sometimes the joints sometimes stretch all out of place, the prismatic gets left behind the chasis and wheel then gets left behind as well, both pulled out of position. The prismatic motor is being driven proportional to it's translation so it has a restoring motion on it so it acts like a hydraulic suspension. Not sure if there's something else I need to set up? I've kept the values fairly realistic I think. I've set a common collision group on all these parts. I've tweaked the masses, the friction, the amount of travel in the prismatic joints etc, but I can't seem to make them 'fixed'. They're ok when the vehicle moves slowly. This happens on 73518. Thanks.
Jul 24, 2010 at 5:25 AM

Do you have both the PrismaticJoint and RevoluteJoint between the Wheel to the Car? If so that won't work, as they will pull against each other. Rather than that use a small block on the PrismaticJoint, and connect the wheel to that.

Jul 24, 2010 at 6:43 AM
Edited Jul 24, 2010 at 8:51 AM

Hi, I think that's what I have. Although when stationary it does seem to bounce a bit, that might be the motor on the prismatic. Anyway I took a few screenshots in case it helps. The top is the object at rest and the second shows the problem when you move. In the bottom pic the car is traveling to the right, it always seems to be the trailing wheel/joint that has the problem. It's probably something stupid I've done as it's the first jointed thing I've made. http://img638.imageshack.us/img638/5968/farseerjointproblem.jpg I got a better screenshot that shows the revolute being pulled as well http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/7207/farseerjointproblem2.jpg