Farseer Sensor and Parallax Foreground

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jul 30, 2010 at 7:00 AM
Edited Jul 30, 2010 at 7:07 AM

I'm new to the Farseer engine and trying to get the hang of it all. I decided to try my luck at a Worms-like physics testing environment. Since I'm trying to learn a lot about XNA, I also decided to try and implement parallax layers as well. I'm using Farseer 2.1.3 (since I couldn't find a port of Farseer 3.0 for XNA 4.0).

My parallax drawing operates with a 2d camera that calculates the necessary parallax offset by comparing the intial camera position with the current position. This lets me drag the screen around using the mouse and have the layers move in the correct fashion.

//Landscape Object
public void DrawBackground(ScreenManager screenManager, Camera2d camera)
        {
            foreach (TextureLayer layer in backgroundLayers)
            {
                screenManager.SpriteBatch.Begin(SpriteSortMode.Immediate,
                               BlendState.AlphaBlend,
                               SamplerState.LinearClamp,
                               DepthStencilState.Default,
                               RasterizerState.CullNone,
                               null,
                               camera.get_transformation(TylerGame.graphics.GraphicsDevice, layer.scrollSpeed));

layer.Draw(screenManager.SpriteBatch);

screenManager.SpriteBatch.End();
            }
        }
//Camera Object
public Matrix get_transformation(GraphicsDevice graphicsDevice, float scrollSpeed)
        {
            _transform =       // Thanks to o KB o for this solution
              Matrix.CreateTranslation(new Vector3((_startpos.X-_pos.X)*scrollSpeed, (_startpos.Y-_pos.Y)*scrollSpeed, 0)) *
                                         Matrix.CreateRotationZ(Rotation) *
                                         Matrix.CreateScale(new Vector3(Zoom, Zoom, 0)) *