needing some help updating to 3.0

Topics: User Forum
Sep 9, 2010 at 9:29 PM

hi everyone.  first off i'll just say that i'm a bit of a noob when it comes to oop and using the farseer physics engine.  I started messing with it about a month ago, and I'm not exactly the sharpest knife in the drawer when it comes to this stuff.  Having said that I did have a pretty good thing going in 2.1, but upgrading to 3.0 has left me scratching my head on how to accomplish the same thing.  I figure the best way to ask how to do this is to explain how it worked in 2.1

I was working on a side scrolling shoot-em-up game with tile based level geometry.  There are two things types of things in the world which have geometry and are controlled by the physics engine.  There are tiles in the world which are static, and there are actors which are basically everything else.  (the player, bad guys, shots fired by the player, debris....)  Starting with actors, there are two lists that hold all the information needed for actors

private List<Actor> actors;

private List<ActorDef> defActors;

Actor is the base class for the active things flying about in the gameWorld.  shots fired by the player, bad guys, the player, and everything are all derived from Actor.  Every Actor has both a Body and Geom.  When an actor dies, such as a badguy getting shot, or a shot flying out of the gamespace the actor gets removed and both the Body and Geom that that actor had get disposed.

class Actor
    {
        #region Fields
        protected GameWorld gameWorld;
        protected ActorDef def;
        protected Texture2D image;
        protected Rectangle imageRect;
        protected Vector2 imageCenter;
        //protected Rectangle boundingRect;
        protected Body myBody;
        protected Geom myGeom;
        protected CollisionEvent myCollisionEvent;

protected bool alive = false;
        protected bool hasGravity = false;
        protected bool hasGeometry = false;