Playing around with texture to polygon tools

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jan 3, 2011 at 9:39 AM

Howdy,

I'm new to farseer and I've been experimenting a bit with the texture to polygon tools. I have some questions I was hoping to get help with.

Here's a view of the texture and the generated polygon (enlarged to make it easier to see):

http://www.flickr.com/photos/52325734@N02/5318921607/

code:

//Build polygon for texture
            uint[] data = new uint[texture2d.Width*texture2d.Height];
            texture2d.GetData(data);
            Vertices verts = PolygonTools.CreatePolygon(data, texture2d.Width, texture2d.Height);

//translate and scale polygon to screen
            Vector2 origin = new Vector2(-texture2d.Width / 2, -texture2d.Height / 2);
            verts.Translate(ref origin);
            Vector2 scale = new Vector2(1, -1);
            scale = Vector2.Transform(scale, game.worldparams.PixelToMeterMatrix);
            verts.Scale(ref scale);

//decompose vertices
            List<Vertices> list = EarclipDecomposer.ConvexPartition(verts);

//remove empty vertices
            for (int i = 0; i < list.Count; i++)
            {
                if (list[i].Count == 0)
                {
                    list.RemoveAt(i);
                    i--;
                }
            }

List<Fixture> compound = FixtureFactory.CreateCompoundPolygon(game.fs_world, list, 1);         

fs_body = compound[0].Body;
            fs_fixture = compound[0];

A few of the questions I have are:

1) Is it unusual to have so many polygons for a simple texture? Is there any sort of performance penalty that comes with having a body represented by more polygons?

2) I added some code to apply a force to the texture, and I noticed there's a slight rotation that is getting applied over time. This rotation does not happen if I use a rectangular body created by BodyFactory. Is this because the generated polygons are not perfectly symmetrical?