How to use a Path primitive in FPE 3.2

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Jan 3, 2011 at 9:37 AM
Edited Jan 3, 2011 at 2:20 PM

Hi all,

I'm totally new to FPE and since i started to learn it so many changes were made to the engine, so most of the examples that i found on the web are now too old for work.

My purpose is to have a 2D roadmap made using a primitive path polygon in GLEED2D. Once, the way for working on that was to transform every single vertice/line of the path in a body/geom object and attach it to a phisic simulator.

Actually, there's no more phisicsSimulator nor the Geom. I must use the World instead a PS and a Shape instead a Geom, right?

My deal is to decect collision between the ground path that i draw and my main character. The ground path have up and down hills and character must follow them while walking.

I suppose that i have to create a body/shape for my character, attaching it to my World, and it's ok so far.

I load the xml file with my path data from gleed2D and i can scan sequentially every item in every layer i created.

For each item of my level (every item is a path segment) i have to create the relative body/shape and attach it to my world? I must use both World.AddBody and World.BodyList.Add?

Or i must use the Path/Pathmanager class? And how can i check collision between my char shape and the path itself?

There's no samples in simpleSample 3.2 that uses Path, or i'm wrong?

If i have my char shape and my item list shape, how can i detect what shapes are very next/near to my character shape to detect collisions? I need to scan them one by one using position coordinates, fixture checking or something else? The OnBroadphaseCollision fires automatically between the fixture of character body and the path ground body?

Thank you. Greetings!

Jan 3, 2011 at 3:19 PM
Edited Jan 3, 2011 at 3:21 PM

Could i use something like the following?