starting with FPE 3.2: doubts

Topics: Developer Forum
Jan 27, 2011 at 4:48 AM
Edited Jan 27, 2011 at 5:14 AM

Hi,

I am new to using FPE, so please bear with my questions. Also, since 3.2 is based on Box2D, I have been reading their manual and pieces of code scattered in samples to better understand terminology and usage.

Pong is usually my testbed whenever I try to do something new. Here is one of the issue I am running into:

- How can I restrict paddles to move only along Y axis, because the ball comes in and knocks off the paddles and everything floats in space afterwards ? (Box = Rectangle and ball = circle)

- I know MKS is the unit system, but is there a recommendation for sizes/position to be used ? I know this is a very generic question, but it would be good to know a simple set of values that one could use for making a game as simple as pong.

Between box2d and FPE, I have some doubts:

- what is the recommended way of making a body in FPE ? 

• world.CreateBody() does not exist in FPE
  • Box2d manual recommends never to "new" body(since Box2D uses Small Object allocators), so is there a recommended way in Farseer to create a body (apart from factories) ?

- In box2d, it is recommended to keep a track of the body object, since it is also the parent to fixture(s). Why is it that in most of the examples, the fixture object is tracked ? Is there a reason why body is not tracked ?

If you want, I can post my pong code on the svn, so other beginners can use it to get started.

Thanks

Jan 27, 2011 at 5:48 AM

The paddle should be a Kinematic body. That means you have to manually set the position and velocity, and it doesnt react to collision (the balls will bounce off the paddle, but the paddle wont move)

The Box2D manual recommends sizes between 0.1 and 10, I think. Read up to make sure.

To create a body in farseer you go:

Body b = new Body(_world);
_world.Add(b);