FixedJointObject follows Mouse

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Feb 15, 2011 at 12:32 PM

Hi Guys,

I am fairly new to Farseer and Box2D, I have a few issues regarding an object which would have a fixed joint to the mouse control. I have looked all around the forum but I have found nothing about this.

So far I have understood the how the click works so I managed to change the code to this so when I click on an object, the object will then follow the mouse and right click will cancel the action:

private void Mouse(InputHelper state)
        {
            Vector2 position = Camera2D.ConvertScreenToWorld(state.MousePosition);

if (state.IsNewButtonPress(MouseButtons.RightButton))
            {
                MouseUp();
            }
            else if (state.IsNewButtonPress(MouseButtons.LeftButton))
            {
                MouseDown(position);
            }

if (_fixedMouseJoint != null)
            {
                _fixedMouseJoint.WorldAnchorB = position;
            }
        }

public void MouseDown(Vector2 p)
        {
            {
                return;
            }

Fixture savedFixture = World.TestPoint(p);

if (savedFixture != null)
            {

Body body = savedFixture.Body;
                _fixedMouseJoint = new FixedMouseJoint(body, p);
                _fixedMouseJoint.MaxForce = 1000.0f * body.Mass;
                World.AddJoint(_fixedMouseJoint);
                body.Awake = true;
            }
        }

private void MouseUp()
        {
            {
                World.RemoveJoint(_fixedMouseJoint);
                _fixedMouseJoint = null;
            }
        }

Now the question is...

I am following the code in Demo1Screen.cs in the SimpleExamples 3.2 and what I want to do is that as soon as I access the game, the joint is already created between the object and the mouse (so I am not required to click on the rectangle in this case). I tried replicating the code for when the mouse is down but I get nothing.