Sprite's not Relative to Physics

Topics: Developer Forum
Feb 16, 2011 at 12:22 AM
Edited Feb 16, 2011 at 12:23 AM

What happens is when i move the player or move the camera, all the physics objects move faster then my spritebatch objects so everthing comes out of position.

I guess this is because there not linked up correctly?

I was thinking that it could be to do with my camera and how its setup? but once i added the player and moved him forward the player sprite didn't follow the physics box correctly.

This is proberly a stupid problem, but I'm not a great programmer however i don't want to give up on Farseer as its a great engine and really adds a great dynamic to the game I'm making.

Feb 16, 2011 at 12:40 AM
Edited Feb 16, 2011 at 2:05 AM

Ok, I've looked though a few old forum posts and i think its todo with ConvertUnits.

I think i need to convert my Farseer based objects so that they work the same as Xna's Vectors. I am correct?

However the only post's i can see, make the object based upon the Texture Height and width, and what im tryin to do is, create a physic's box and then make the Sprite render to it position. The reason for this is because my Sprite is an animated Sprite and is not a Texture2D so i can't use the template's i have found.

If there is anyone who knows of a solution it would help me out so much, as once this glitch is sorted i will have a whole engine to use in Xna that use's Gleed2D and Farseer, and can get back making the game.

I really don't know how much sense i am talking to you guys as i've only just picked up c# and Farseer.

Feb 16, 2011 at 3:17 AM
Edited Feb 17, 2011 at 1:21 AM

my last post of the night, i know im just talking to myself however i keep finding out more and im getting closer.

At the moment, i have linked my player to the body, however when the start the game the sprite goes in the oppersite direction.

So the physics object lands on the ground but the sprite floats upwards :(

Here my player code: