Rotate "World"

Topics: Developer Forum
Feb 17, 2011 at 12:38 PM

I'm making a game like Loco Roco, where you have to "rotate" the world so gravity let's your character roll the right direction.

In order for that it seems I should rotate the World object you get in a game.

I'm new to farseer and XNA, but have programmed before in C#. So go easy on me (A).

Does anyone have a tutorial of some kind, or a very small example project so i can get started.

Thanks in advance,

Feb 17, 2011 at 12:50 PM

I think the best solution is to rotate the camera and manually change the World's gravity value based on the camera angle.

Feb 17, 2011 at 12:52 PM
Edited Feb 17, 2011 at 12:53 PM

You can't really rotate the world object. Just modify the World.Gravity vector instead and rotate your view e.g. the spritebatch or whatever you use for rendering about the angle between (0,1) and your gravity vector.

Edit: Guess we wrote at the same time... what Pnikosis said ;)

Feb 18, 2011 at 10:45 AM

Thanks for the responses.

I'm trying to adjust the gravity in game (while running) but it simply get's ignored. It seems like World calls Island.Solve only one time to give a reference of the gravity. After that point the updated gravity just doesn't do anything.

i used this code to change the gravity

public override void HandleKeyboardInput(InputHelper input)
            if (input.CurrentKeyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.X))
                World.Gravity.Y = 20f;
            if (input.CurrentKeyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.S))
                World.Gravity = new Vector2(World.Gravity.X, (World.Gravity.Y + 0.05f));

if (input.CurrentKeyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.W))
                World.Gravity = new Vector2(World.Gravity.X, (World.Gravity.Y - 0.05f));

if (input.CurrentKeyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.A))
                World.Gravity = new Vector2((World.Gravity.X + 0.05f), World.Gravity.Y);
            if (input.CurrentKeyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.D))