Creating and Drawing Polygons

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Mar 5, 2011 at 7:43 AM
Edited Mar 5, 2011 at 7:49 AM

Hi , I'm new to Farseer and XNA but I really need them for a project of mine. Been going around the web for a week now and I am making decent progress.

I was aiming to create something like the Crayon Physics game. Right now I've managed to store mouse coordinates in a List<Vector2> on every click and using 3 of them to create squares and rectangles in the game using FixtureFactory.CreateRectangle and then drawing them using spriteBatch and new Rectangles.  

Now I want to create a random irregular shape like we could in Crayon Physics but I am failing miserably. I know about convex, concave polygons and triangulation but have no idea how to use them.

I just want to retrieve coordinates from my mouse click and create a random polygons, regardless of their type and shape.

Any sort of help would be much appreciated !

Any sort of code snippet for creating and drawing the polygons would be even more appreciated because I'm new and I've read a lot of discussions but have still not found a solution, only more confusion.

Thanks a million in advance !

Coordinator
Mar 10, 2011 at 6:54 PM

When you have the vertices from the mouse position, you simply use a decomposer like EarclipDecomposer.ConvexPartition() on the vertices. This will convex partition the polygon. Then you give the list of vertices to FixtureFactory.CreateCompoundPolygon() and that should be it.

Take a look at the Texture-To-Vertices test from the testbed. It imports a texture (could be a random drawn polygon) and convert it to an object usable in FPE using the above mentioned tools.

Developer
Mar 10, 2011 at 8:34 PM

I'll try and write up a simple demo over the weekend.

Mar 10, 2011 at 9:21 PM
Maybe its time for us to get some documentation and revised tutorials together. I'll be into doing this.

Sent from my Windows Phone
Mar 10, 2011 at 10:10 PM