2D Sidescroller help

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Apr 9, 2008 at 12:47 AM
Edited Apr 9, 2008 at 6:57 AM
OK, I'm very new to XNA and have only had about 3-4 months of programming in C# so... yeah.

Anyways, I was wondering if Farseer would be good for a 2D Sidescroller game - One where the character can run/jump/shoot/etc...
Or if I should just make my own gravity/collisions...

My experience with this engine so far has been a bit frustrating (although I'm new). My character is an animation that has been thrown onto a Body (rectangle) and put into a Geom (rectangle). And I have key inputs that move the Body's position.

My problem is when I'm running my character (body) off a ledge (static body), or if I'm landing at an angle, the image will sometimes flip or wobble. I realize these are physics of a rectangle, but I'm wondering if there's a way I can store my animations into a Body and detect collision with other Bodies without friction (but I don't want my object moving endlessly when sitting on a static Body), without bouncing (when landing on a static Body), and without rotating (when moving my animation body off a static body).

I still want to use the gravity and collision, just not the collisions reactions (bouncing when landing/etc) and friction.

I've tried removing collision reaction, but that just drops my Body straight through any static Body.
And if I put the friction coefficient to 0, the character (body) just keeps moving either right or left (I understand why, but I can't have friction because it causes the Body to wobble just a bit when it stops).

If anybody has any ideas on how to attack this problem, I'd be very grateful. Thank you!
Apr 9, 2008 at 8:24 AM
Well,

to start with your basic problems:

- You could reset the linearRotation of your object each frame. This will let it stay upwards and not rotate on collisions (flip/wobble).
- In any case, ignore the rotation of the geom while rendering the characters image.