Circular or Other Shaped Borders

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Apr 17, 2008 at 12:40 AM
I'm very new to Farseer, but I've my code for a game that will place objects on a map and move them. What I want to know is, is it possible to create a border that is a circle or even another shape. The demos show creating a rectangle border by creating 4 rectangles around the area. Obviously this isn't really possible with a circle. My thoughts are to declare a polygon in reverse order so the inside is usable, but I bet there is easier way. Is there some function that makes the body or geom of a circle that is static hollow? Thus making it so the edge of the circle is where collision occurs. Thanks in advance.
Apr 17, 2008 at 6:15 AM
Edited Apr 17, 2008 at 6:16 AM
Haven't tried it, but a nice bet is that GeomFactory.Instance.CreateCircleGeom() is creating a hollow circle the same way as a polygon shape (CreatePolygonGeom) is just a bunch of points with lines between each other.
Apr 17, 2008 at 9:31 PM
Yeah, I thought that too, but when I try to position some stuff inside the circle it gets pushed to the outside edge with CreateCircleGeom.
Coordinator
Apr 18, 2008 at 4:36 PM
polygons and circles are not "hollow" they are solid and will push objects out. To do what you want you sould need to create a circle like you would create, for instance, the letter C except you would need to close the open part.

Apr 18, 2008 at 8:36 PM
Edited Apr 18, 2008 at 8:45 PM
Hey, you would have to simulate a hollow object using other bodies as the border, similar to the Border class. For a circle, this is easy, as you can create two concave semi-circle polygons that mirror each other to form the circle.

As a quick example, the following class will roughly define a concave semi-circle point list.

public class BoundsExample
{
/// <summary>
/// Create a concave semi-circle list of points.
/// </summary>
/// <param name="radius">Radius of the semi-circle.</param>