'Soft' Surfaces

Topics: User Forum
Aug 4, 2011 at 10:40 AM

I'm loving Farseer Physics, but am frustrated that something that seems so obvious still escapes me!

How would I simulate the kind of friction that you might see in a golfing game; The golf ball can be hit off the tee, and land on surfaces that affect the volocity differently - the ball could land on the fairway, or perhaps a sand trap.

I have a sloped surface (edge) that I use for my sandtrap, but the ball always rolls around until it finds somewhere to settle. What I need is a kind of 'stickyness' of the two bodies. The ball is not sticky, of course, but the stickyness of the edges would vary depending on the 'quality' of the impact surface: fairway, fringe, green or sand.

Of course, applying a force to the ball along the contact normal shouldn't be affected, only forces along the tangent normal for the particular contact surfaces.

I'm no physics expert, so please excuse my ignorance in this area, and if I have misused any terminology!

-Stephen

Aug 4, 2011 at 1:39 PM

hmmm if i understand you right you want to make the sand "sticky"

try to set the sand body to a sensor and if it contains the golf ball slow him down. you can do ramps like that too (but instead of slowing down push it facting the normal / direction)

you also can set body.LinearDamphing (i think) to something like 1f or whatever

Aug 5, 2011 at 11:25 AM

What you want to do is adjust the friction. I'm still fairly new at Farseer, but I believe that all bodies have a friction variable that can be set. In your case, you would adjust the friction of the "sand trap" edges to be higher than any other surface. If that's not possible, you will have to adjust the friction of the ball. You could set if statements up to adjust the friction of the ball depending on the surface it is on. Something like this this pseudo code.

if(surface == fairway)

Ball.Friction = 0.1f;

else if(surface == sand)

Ball.Friction = 5f;

Aug 5, 2011 at 12:04 PM