How to use the farseer debugview?

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Oct 13, 2011 at 8:52 PM
Edited Oct 15, 2011 at 1:37 PM

Hey, I am completely new to farseer physics so bear with me!

I am trying to use the DebugViewXNA project that came with the samples and I have no idea where to start. I have tried googling but nothing has shown up any definitive guide on how to set up and use the debugger. There are tonnes of classes that aren't part of the DebugViewXNA project which it is dependant on it, ie there are files all over the place you need from the samples project which aren't included in the DebugView folder. Can anyone offer any help on how I can set myself up.

Oct 15, 2011 at 1:37 PM

edited OP

Oct 15, 2011 at 9:37 PM

I did this to get the debugview to show up in the helloworld example.  No-one has confirmed that this is the correct way to do it though.  I'm a newb at this too.

In my own solution I took the FarseerPhysics project and DebugViewXNA project and included them.  Then I put pretty much the same code as I did for getting helloworld to work and now I have a debug view inside my code.  My code is all over the place so I won't post it.  I think you should be able to get it working with the helloworld code I posted.

Good luck.  If you need any more help I'm happy to try and assist; but you'll have to live with my newb'ness.

Oct 15, 2011 at 11:20 PM

Unfortunately from what I can gather, that is from within the samples project. So all those loose file references from different projects within that project are all still available to you, so you wouldn't really run into the same problems as using the debugview class that comes on its own with the standard farseer physics. Thanks for the paste though, the code could be quite helpful.

Oct 16, 2011 at 8:13 AM