Multithreading XNA + Farseer physics

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
May 14, 2008 at 7:19 PM
Hi, does anyone try to do multithreading on XNA? And integrate physics into the game?

An idea would be:
1. thread: rendering, UI Logic
2. thread: physics

David
May 15, 2008 at 3:10 PM
Edited May 15, 2008 at 3:20 PM
I'm not an expert and I haven't tried it before, and I'm not sure much benefit you would get out of it. There are probably a couple of ways you could do it. First of all, I think you'd need two copies of your physics simulator and every physics object in it, and some fast way to copy the state of everything from one to the other. Basically, your physics thread is going to work on one copy, and your rendering loop will copy over the state of the physics loop to its own local copy before rendering it. The copy process has to be fast or it won't be worth doing it with threads. Now here is where you can do things differently:

One way to handle it would be to synchronize the physics thread and the rendering thread. The rendering thread renders the current frame and then waits for the physics thread to finish calculating the next frame's state. The physics thread calculates the next frame's state while the rendering thread is rending the current frame's state. After it is done, it will wait for the rendering thread to finish rendering the current frame's state. In between, one of the threads copies over the state from the physics thread to the render thread.