Farseer + Silverlight = Fragile - game freezes with too many geom/body objects

Topics: Developer Forum
Jun 9, 2008 at 1:43 PM
First off, I'm rather new to silverlight and game programming in general.  My assumption that Silverlight and Farseer together make a fragile program is likely based on faulty data and my own lack of said-knowledge.

I've taken the demo project that comes with the Farseer download and used that as a base for my game. In that demo project is a "AddRectangle" (which adds a Body/Geom to the play field) method (found in the SimulatorView class). I've simply used that method to add many objects to my game board. It works well for small boards, but once I add a certain amount, the game simply grinds to a halt then freezes up.

Has anyone else experienced this? Is there something I've done wrong or that I should change? (perhaps using the demo as a base is a bad idea?)

I'd love any thoughts or suggestions about solving this... the amount of bodies I've added is not huge by any means (about 60) and if Silverlight can't handle that, I'd be surprised.
Jun 9, 2008 at 3:01 PM
Update: I thought I would add more information to this about what the game board looks like, as it may prove helpful. I've got my blocks that are set to static objects. They are all sitting on top of each other and touching. I've noticed that if I turn off collission detection on the blocks, then the game runs fine. However, I need them to collide with the player's avatar so they work as a stop.

I'm going to guess that the blocks are all colliding with each other constantly even though I've got them set to static... which seems odd. Is there anyway I can make them behave better?
Jun 17, 2008 at 9:14 PM