simple bouncing ?

Aug 17, 2008 at 8:44 PM
hi dear admins and friends,

i study farseer physics for a while and i am a beginner and for the first time writting here.

my problem is :

i try to make a simple code about a bouncing object with gravitation.(just the same you release a ball from your hand and watch its motion on the road)

-ball is falling horizontally.
-when it collide at a certain screen point (i.e Y=800) it bounces up with a force.
-i need to make its bounce slow and then stop.
-then i used "ball.lineardragcoefficient = 1"
-it slowed but at the point Y=800 it always jump.

can you help me

regards

myriac

Coordinator
Aug 18, 2008 at 5:46 PM
"-ball is falling horizontally.
-when it collide at a certain screen point (i.e Y=800) it bounces up with a force.
-i need to make its bounce slow and then stop.
-then i used "ball.lineardragcoefficient = 1"
-it slowed but at the point Y=800 it always jump."

Is that your current progress? So now your current problem is that it always jump at y=800 it jumps?
Could you provide a demo or screenshot to make it easier to help you.

My first idea was just to deactivate the object that makes it bounce up again, once it already has bounced, but this might not be the solution as I do not understand the problem fully.
Aug 18, 2008 at 6:46 PM
firstly , thank you genbox for your reply

it is a very simple thing i know..think that you have just one ball on the screen.

program has a gravitation so it falls
            physicsSimulator = new PhysicsSimulator(new Vector2(0,200));

when ball reach i.e Y=800 i want it to jump up until it stops like in real life genbox.. think you hold a tennis ball in your hand , and then you throw it onto the ground , it falls on the ground and then jumps a few times and then stops because of gravitation.

if (ball.Position.Y >= 800)
            {              
               ball.ApplyForce(new Vector2(0,-500);
            }

above is in the update part of the code.