Overlapping Objects Creates Lag

May 17, 2012 at 4:04 AM
Edited May 17, 2012 at 4:04 AM

Hey guys, so I've been working on an MMO that uses Farseer for about 8 months now. Posted in here a few times now.

One issue that I'm discovering is that when lots of objects sit on top of each other, the AABB engine still fires off (even when they're set to ignore) and it creates a lot of lag. From my experience, that's what the error is. The more objects that stack, the higher the lag. O(N^2) it feels like.

We use a string for userdata and we trim off the first X characters to get the number associated with the bullet, to set data to destroy it.

This method seems inefficient though. And could be the cause of the lag. How do you guys manage OnCollision and have you noticed this issue before?

BTW we're talking about 600 bullets when we start to lag. Without them touching (mostly) it's around 1400.

image link: http://spacerambles.com/forums/download/file.php?id=338&mode=view

May 17, 2012 at 1:50 PM

Well pretty much what I would expect in terms of performance based on my experience.

IMHO this is one situation where you actually don't need a physics engine to do the physics :) You have one way collisions (bullet vs ship) and no collision response needed. Much easier is to make it work as a particle system. If your bullets can be approximated as point masses (probably they can with the center  of the sprite as center of mass) then do your own motion (using Euler, Verlet or awesome precision Runge-Kutta, won't mattter much comparatively) -> get new position -> cast a ray in Farseer between old and new position -> go boom if the ray hits a fixture of a ship. You can easily get 10k or more bullets like this and the bottleneck will be the graphics engine. 

Also for the userdata - isn't it better to use bitmasks rather than string manipulation (which btw cause huge garbage).

May 17, 2012 at 2:14 PM