Rag-doll model

Topics: User Forum
Oct 15, 2008 at 12:31 PM
Hi, I'm new to the Farseer engine and have been looking desperately for a rag-doll code example. Do you know where can I find one? To join the parts seems quite easy using pins, but I find very difficult to animate the doll in a way that it moves over a surface. Or maybe should I use standard interpolation to move the model? http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa970077.aspx

If you can give me any insight, it would be great!

Thanks
David
Coordinator
Oct 15, 2008 at 2:30 PM
Edited Oct 15, 2008 at 2:32 PM
Hi, Welcome to the discussions. Hope you like Farseer Physics so far.

There have been some other requests on ragdolls here in the forums. I remember this and this one.

If you want a ragdoll seen from the side, you might wan't to contact Walaber. He made Gymnast with XNA and Farseer Physics, he might be able to send you the code.

If you manage to create a good ragdoll, would you mind letting me know? I have some plans on including a ragdoll sample in Farseer.
Oct 18, 2008 at 3:14 PM
Are you working with Silverlight?

If so, I just posted a RagDoll sample using the Physics Helper classes for Blend and Silverlight. These classes let you draw art out in Expression Blend and have them translated into Farseer Physics bodies and geometries automatically. (you can even draw out Joints!)

Here is a link to the RagDoll sample: http://www.spritehand.com/silverlight/2.0/physicshelper/demo4testpage.html

And to the blog post on Physics Helper: http://www.andybeaulieu.com/Home/tabid/67/EntryID/123/Default.aspx

I'll be moving this project to Codeplex in the next iteration, so if anyone is interested in helping out let me know!
Coordinator
Oct 18, 2008 at 5:55 PM
Very nice ragdoll Andy! He's kind of a fatty (Heavy guy ;) ) and has some problems with he's knees. (Bending the wrong way), but I really like him.