Starting guide or tutorial

Topics: Developer Forum
Jul 31, 2012 at 10:54 PM

hello everyone!

im new with this engine game, so, i was reading the documentation and itd too old, where  find a start guide or tutorial with new version of this engine, i downloaded the examples, but there are many things I do not understand even the hello world, so any can help to undesrtand step by step this engine ?...

example... i include de refference: FarseerPhysicsXNA and use at code

using FarseerPhysics.Dynamics;
using FarseerPhysics.Factories;

all this i try and work for now.. but I did all this intuitively but I do not know if its ok, I know exactly what dll add, do not know whether to add the project completely, not ... I'm doing with this simple logic, but there should be a tutorial or step by step guide

Jul 31, 2012 at 11:50 PM

Did you have a look at the TestBed project? It's full of examples of the things the engine can do. As a matter of fact I suggest you start by modifying a TestBed item and only move to XNA graphics when you are really comfortable with the physics. XNA is not easy at all, even though it might seem so at first glance. Add to that a physics engine that is by definition really complicated and this can get easily overwhelming even if you are an expert in .NET.

In the testbed you get for free a game loop, input management and quite useful automatic DebugDrawing with camera matrices set up for you to perfectly match the physics with no need of thinking about conversions and scale. Making a real game, of course, is much more difficult but this really has little to do with the engine. The samples are a step in that direction with some useful stuff but they are by no means complete and are not a real game engine just a prototype.