Farseer/XNA jumping troubleshooting

Topics: Developer Forum
Aug 13, 2012 at 5:29 PM

Okay, so I've been troubleshooting making a 2D sidescroller in the vain of Super Mario Brothers, and right now I've got a rough directional code that applies torques to the body from Farseer, but I can't seem to figure out how to allow the player to augment his jump while he's in mid-air. Right now, this code allows for him to jump up in a straight line, but that's all. I am brand new to XNA and Farseer, so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks so much,

B1ueman123

if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Left))
            {
                direction = "left";
                UpdatePlayer();
                bleak_circle.ApplyTorque(-20f);
            }
            else if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Right))
            {
                direction = "right";
                UpdatePlayer();
                bleak_circle.ApplyTorque(20f);
            }
            else if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Q))
            {
                UpdatePlayer();
                bleak_circle.ResetDynamics();
            }

if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Space) && previousKeyboardState.IsKeyUp(Keys.Space))
            {
                UpdatePlayer();
                bleak_circle.ApplyLinearImpulse(new Vector2(0, -10000f));
                if (keyboardState.IsKeyDown(Keys.Left))
                {
                    bleak_circle.Position = new Vector2 (bleak_circle.Position.X - bleak_circle.LinearVelocity.X,0);
                }
                direction = "up";
            }

Aug 13, 2012 at 5:31 PM

The "Q" command is totally arbitrary and was only used to keep the circle body from moving infinitely, also the code for the body that is being used is here

float recWidth = 70;
        float recHeight = 80;
        float circleRadius = 35;

//bleak_rect = BodyFactory.CreateRectangle(world, 1.75f, 1.75f, 1.0f, new Vector2(2.0f, 0.0f));