Targeting System

Topics: User Forum
Nov 28, 2008 at 4:32 PM
Hello all.

I'm rather new to the Engine as well as programming (c#/XNA)  so I apologies ahead of time if everything sounds rather noobish :)

What I'm trying to do is figure out sort of a targeting system.  I am currently just working on a game editor to setup the world, joints, ragdolls or whatever else I decide to put in a game.  I am currently stuck on targeting specific geoms, well I can used pickedGeom = Farseer.Physics.Collide(point); from the samples with a little modification to not use the spring,  but my problem is I want to be able draw a box around it or change the shade of the texture when it is selected and I couldn't find anyway of telling if each geom has an ID that I can check to make sure I have the right geom.  So I guess my question would be is there a way to find specific geoms by an ID of some sort.  I eventually would like to be able to "tab" through certain objects in the actual game itself much like an MMO but for now I would like to select an object in the editor and change the apperance or add a box around it so I know that object or multiple objects are selected.

any ideas or sample code are greatly appreciated.

I would like to say I love the engine,  really quite easy to get started with as well as a lot of fun.  Thank you very much.

Nov 28, 2008 at 6:16 PM
Yes there is. C# actually has an ID on all objects. Just run .GetHashCode() on the geometry and you will have an ID. You should note that while GetHashCode() returns identical id's for identical objects, it's not considered to be unique results. You can read more about this on

Another thing you should note, is that both the Geom and Body class have a "Tag" property that you can insert references to your objects into.