Modifying Geometries on the fly

Dec 19, 2008 at 9:38 AM
Edited Dec 19, 2008 at 9:40 AM
I'm pretty new to this physics engine but it all it's capabilities are really exicting. 

So far I have a working prototype of deformable terrian. You click and a bomb spawns, it falls down, explodes and makes a dent in the surface of the terrain. I used extensions I think were made by Dr. Deth using the subtract verticies method. Then once the verts have been subtracted I rebuild my terrain geometry. This is all fine and dandy, but the problem is in creating a new geometry to update the terrain every time a bomb goes off. The game stutters for a split-second and it would be annoying during gameplay.

After some more playing around I came across the geom.SetVertices(verts). So now instead of deleting and respawning a geometry, I tried to use the setVerts. In the debug view when I do this the changes are immediate and clearly visable. But the problem is that the collision doesn't seem to be updated along with the verticies. I tried geom.ComputeCollisionGrid() but then my verticies disapear off the screen, same happens thing when I try and do geom.SetBody().

What I am asking for is a way to modify/deform the geometry itself without rebuilding it or if there is any other way to update the terrain geometry that wouldn't make the game stutter.
Coordinator
Dec 19, 2008 at 11:48 AM
When you create a new geometry in Farseer Physics, it needs to calculate what is called a distance grid. The grid takes some time to calculate, but once that is done, the collision detection will be quicker. The time it takes to calculate the grid depends on the "collision grid cell size" that is set before creating the grid.

You might want to try and change the collision grid cell size value. You can read about this in our manual Farseer Physics 2.0 manual
You might also want to chunk up your landscape. A small geometry will be quicker to calculate than a larger geometry.