XNA farseer 3.3.1 - Collision detection help!

Topics: User Forum
Feb 4, 2013 at 9:52 PM
Hello before i ask my question i would like to mention i am very new to farseer physics engine.

lol okay, so i am creating a game where it is a top down 2D car type of game. You controll a player and move around and after i learn how to use collision detection with this engine i would like the player to be able to enter the vehicle with the press of a button on collsion.
            myPlayer.Body.OnCollision += new OnCollisionEventHandler(Player_OnCollision);
            Car.Body.OnCollision += new OnCollisionEventHandler(player.Player_OnCollision);

public bool Player_OnCollision(Fixture fixtureA, Fixture fixtureB, FarseerPhysics.Dynamics.Contacts.Contact contact)
        {
            KeyboardState keyState = Keyboard.GetState();

if (keyState.IsKeyDown(Keys.E))
            {
                Player_Draw = false;
            }

return true;
        }
i can stop the player from drawing with this code but i have to hold E down befor i run into the car.. i want to be able to walk up to the car and press E once to enter.. i know i shouldnt be using isKeyDown() for something like that.

im planing on stopping the player from being drawn and have the user control the car, while at the same time the player character is not being drawn and is following the car.

Thanks for any help i recieve.
Feb 4, 2013 at 10:27 PM
Edited Feb 4, 2013 at 10:29 PM
I have several suggestions.

First, the way you have set up the collision handlers is redundant. I would use only one collision handler for myPlayer and then check fixtureB to see if it is the car body. You could accomplish this by setting Userdata for the car and checking that in Player_OnCollision, although I do not know if that is the best practice. Others might have better suggestions.