Objects always moving

Topics: User Forum
Jan 5, 2009 at 4:08 PM
Hi,

so far I am very impressed. I am experimenting with the engine in Silverlight 2 and for the most time, the physics simulation is really great. But I have the following problem:

In my demo (as said in SL 2) I drop some simple 32x32 pixel Squares onto each other. The issue is that those that have a stable location (i.e. one square standing on two other squares) and thereforce should not move, move nonetheless.
The squares always seem to "shiver", "slide" or slightly move somewhere although they should stand perfectly still.
Now I am new to the engine and maybe this issue can be resolved tweaking some parameters. Here the current parameters in use (though I have tried lots of configurations):

- Gravity is (0, 400) downwards (seems a bit big, but otherwise the squares fall too slowly, and I don't want them to have a giant mass)
- Squares have the Size 32x32, SetDisplayUnitToSimUnitRatio is not used and their mass is 10
- FrictionCoefficient of the Square-Geom is 0.8f and RestitutionCoefficient is 0.1f
- When I call Update on the Simulator I use the amount of seconds since the last update as parameter (= small float values like 0.01)

I don't use AllowedPenetration and BiasFactor, to be honest because I don't know what they do ;-)
It would be great if someone would explain these two parameters to me.
Also, is there any real Documentation on the classes, methods etc. provided by the engine? This would help a lot.

Hopefully someone can help me resolve this problem.
Thanks in advance!

WhiteRabbit
Jan 5, 2009 at 8:09 PM
I have the same problem in my project when I set the mass to high, if I have it at 1-2 the objects become stable and come to rest but higher then that and they behave like you explain
Jan 5, 2009 at 8:22 PM