noob here: collision categories question

Topics: User Forum
Feb 16, 2009 at 4:38 PM
I've just started working on a game in the genre of fantastic contraption.  If you've noticed on that game when you draw a stick connected to a stick which is connected to a third stick, in a chain... the first and third sticks collide with each other, but the middle stick does not collide with either of the sticks.  I don't yet see a simple way to do this with collision categories or groups.

In our case, where a body is connected by a joint to another body those two should not collide with each other, but they should collide with everything that's not directly connected to them with joints.  I can do this using collision categories, but it seems there are a limited number of categories, so what would be the best work around to allow an infinite number of connected sticks?

Using collision groups... if I gave each stick a different number is there a way to just disable collisions with bodies to which they're are connected?

Thanks for helpin' out a noob
Coordinator
Feb 16, 2009 at 7:23 PM
There is indeed a way of doing that.

You can extend the build-in collisiongroup support by subscribing to the OnCollision event and check with your own logic (code) there.
If you have a list of connected bodies or a property on the bodies to check on, you would do something like this.

Foreach (Stick stick in Sticks)
{
    stick.Geom.OnCollision += OnCollision;
    stick.Tag = stick;
}
private bool OnCollision(Geom geomA, Geom geomB, ContactList contactList)
{
    //If the two sticks colliding is both connected to a chain, cancel the collision.
    if (((Stick)geomA.Tag).IsConnectedToStick && ((Stick)geomB.Tag).IsConnectedToStick)
    {
         return false
    }

//Make the collision happen if the above condition is not met.
return true;
}

Or something like that...
Feb 16, 2009 at 7:39 PM
That looks like just what I'm looking for.
Thanks
Feb 17, 2009 at 4:07 AM
Edited Feb 17, 2009 at 4:08 AM