Xbox 360 Optimisation in the future?

Feb 22, 2009 at 7:41 AM
i was just wondering what kind of plans there are to optimise farseer on the 360

now i know that there is probably lots of other things that need to be done first
on my slowest pc (old 800mhz celeron) i get about 138 fps in xna with about 60 stacked objects
on xbox this drops to about 1.1fps

now i know that the xbox is not floating point optimised yet and also has GC overhead

but in most cases 1 360 thread (out of the 6) is the equivelent that of a 800mhz p3
(which holds up is almost everything else i do)
but in this its about 100 times slower

now i could be doing something wrong (but i dont think i am)

so basicly i have 4 questions 

1: Are there plans for Xbox 360 Optimisation in the future?
2: Is there any kind of timeline for this
3: Is there anything i can do to help? (i dont know to much about collision reactions but i am a decent programmer (ive done a sweep and prune before "but i dont think thats where the problem lies i think its in the reactions more-so")
4: What can i do in the mean time to maximise performace on 360 ive tried a few things but cant really seem to change that much should i let it use the default grid cell size or custem ? any other performance tips or optimisations i would love to know

thanks in advance to anyone who replys (i know ive written alot lol)

Coordinator
Feb 22, 2009 at 12:45 PM
Edited Feb 22, 2009 at 12:45 PM
1. Yes, eventually. Jeff already did a lot to optimize it for the Xbox, but we could probably do more. I don't own a Xbox360 so I can't check the results (does it get better or worse) and I don't have a good reliable test to see if performance indeed does get better.

2. No, not currently. Now that you have mentioned this topic, I'll try and see if I can squeeze it into FP 2.2 changelist.