Creating a magnet effect in Farseer

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Apr 11, 2009 at 2:44 PM

I'd like to create a magnet effect that pulls physics objects toward the player - seems pretty simple but since I'm new to using Farseer, I wanted to run this approach by the community to make sure I wasn't setting myself up for a problem down the line.

Here's what I'm doing at the moment (This seems to work but I want to make sure there isn't a better way to handle this):

foreach(PhysicsObject o in physicsObjects)
{

o.PhysicsBody.ClearImpulse();

// Generate a vector to the player
    Vector2 vecObjectToPlayer = player.PhysicsBody.Position - o.PhysicsBody.Position;

vecObjectToPlayer.Normalize();

// Apply a force along that vector
    c.PhysicsBody.ApplyImpulse(vecObjectToPlayer * 50);

}

Apr 11, 2009 at 6:15 PM
You could apply a gravity controller to the player,
I know they have a gravity thing like that for circular gravity(like planets)
Or perhaps you could do the inverse of the grenade sample(It might be similar to what your already doing)
I dont have much experience with the seperate gravity stuff but it seems like that would do what you want and cut out referencing all other objects in a foreach, im not sure haha : P
Apr 12, 2009 at 6:11 AM
This is something I am trying to do as well.

The gravity controller is only in svn, and isn't yet released.  RogueComanderIX might be able to tell us more.  I haven't yet used it and can't say whether or not it works.

Inversing the grenade doesn't work.  It crashes the entire system :P.  I've tried it already.

As far as doing the foreach, that is a common way, because you need it to check all the blocks as they move closer to the area in which the gravity should be applied.
Apr 12, 2009 at 8:00 AM
Edited Apr 12, 2009 at 8:01 AM