2D top-down car with rotating body and Applying force in direction of rotation

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Aug 5, 2014 at 12:29 PM
I am currently writing a simple top-down 2d game, in which the player object is a car comprised of a single body. I originally wrote this using only XNA, but have since decided to have more realistic collisions. My car is a rectangular body, and the player steers the car by rotating the body.

I am new to farseer and having some issue getting the car to steer in the direction the body/texture is rotated.

Here is the original code from my XNA project:

private void Input(GameTime gameTime)

{
        GamePadState gamepadstate = GamePad.GetState(PlayerIndex.One);
        if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.Right) || gamepadstate.DPad.Right == ButtonState.Pressed)
        {
            rotation -= 0.03f;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.Left) || gamepadstate.DPad.Left == ButtonState.Pressed)
        {
            rotation += 0.03f;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.S) || gamepadstate.Triggers.Left > .8f)
        //'S'ar is the accelerator
        {
            speed += 1;

}
        if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.X) || gamepadstate.Triggers.Right > .8f)
        //'X' key is reverse acceleration
        {
            speed -= 1;
        }

if (Keyboard.GetState().IsKeyDown(Keys.Space))
        {
            //Shoot(gameTime,Player player,Content)
        }

if (speed <= 0)
        {
            speed = 1;
        }
        if (speed >= 20)
        {
            speed = 20;
        }

position.X += speed * (float)Math.Cos(rotation);
        position.Y += speed * (float)Math.Sin(rotation);

}

This worked fine. Now that I have converted to farseer, I want to apply (I think) a linear impulse in the direction the car body is rotated.

This works, but the car "drifts" in the direction it was previously heading.
 playerBody.ApplyLinearImpulse(new Vector2(position.X, position.Y));