Checking when a collision happens and sticking objects together.

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jul 31, 2009 at 11:21 PM

I need to check when two circles collide and then stick them together so that they move like 1 object. I can't seem to figure out how to check if two specific objects are colliding. And I assume I can use a weld joint inside an if statement so that if they collide they weld together, but I'm not sure if thats possible. I'm relatively new to Farseer but not new to programming or XNA. I'm currently using Farseer on an XNA project.

Coordinator
Aug 1, 2009 at 12:38 AM

All geometries are polygons, so there is no way in Farseer to check if you collide with a circle geometry. You will have to use the Tag property on the geometries. You can store some kind of "circleid" in it and then check it in the OnCollision event. (CircleGeom.OnCollision)

You have a lot of choices for sticking them together. One is the weld joint, another is a couple of pin joints (or just one, depending on what kind of behavior you want). You could also create a single body with the two geometries, that would make them move as one geometry.

The manual is a good place to start and so are the simple samples provided in the download section.

Aug 1, 2009 at 1:30 AM

would it be possible to have one ball enter another if they collide only about 20% then stick in place after reaching that point? The way this is set up it seems that might be very difficult to pull off.

Coordinator
Aug 1, 2009 at 1:33 AM

You can make both circles ignore collision responses (CollisionResponseEnabled = false). This would permit the circles to enter each other while they still detect collisions as normal. You can then create a inner circle where you have set Geom.IsSensor = true. Once you registered a collision with the sensor geometry (the inner one), you can attach the geometries using a joint.

Aug 4, 2009 at 5:20 AM