Another beginner needing help getting started.

Topics: User Forum
Oct 4, 2009 at 9:39 PM
Edited Oct 4, 2009 at 9:44 PM

I have been programming with C# about 4 months & XNA about a month. I have been able to modify the platform tutorial with pretty decent results. However, I have dumped the tutorial code and started from scratch on a new game (just for my own education of XNA). I would like to in the future institute a swinging rope, a moving platform, and some simple physics. I am not good enough at this point to code those collisions and physics out of my head (other than simple gravity and inertia). I thought that starting out from the beginning with Farseer handling those for me would be a good approach. I have built a barebones platformer with simple movement and gravity on a tile map (See screenshot). My question is, and I know this is a complete noob question, but can someone give me a step by step approach (pseudocode) on how to integrate Farseer into my code, to attach to my player that will give him the gravity and collision response with the tiles. I am just looking for a starting point to start working with. The swinging rope and moving platforms will of course come much later.

Thanks in advance for any help I can get.

http://img39.imageshack.us/img39/2047/gameshot.jpg

Coordinator
Oct 4, 2009 at 10:30 PM

First of all, you need to think simplicity. Getting physics to work is really simple with Farseer Physics. You basically just need a PhysicsSimulator, a Body, and a Geom.

The PhysicsSimulator handles all the dynamics on the bodies and the collisions on the geometries. To setup some simple samples, you could take a look here. Out manual also describes the different parts of the engine.

Oct 4, 2009 at 10:40 PM
Edited Oct 5, 2009 at 12:23 AM