Jumping - (side scroller)

Dec 6, 2009 at 5:04 PM

Hi.

I'm new to Farseer and i'm trying to detect whether the player stands on the ground or not.

I have read:

http://farseerphysics.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=64997

and

http://farseerphysics.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=44960

But I still don't understand how to detect wheter the player stands on the ground.

My very simple sprite code:

public class Sprite
    {
        public Body Body { get; set; }
        public float Width { get; set; }
        public float Height { get; set; }
        public Texture2D Texture { get; set; }
        public Geom Geom { get; set; }

public Sprite(PhysicsSimulator PhysicsSimulator, Texture2D texture, Vector2 position, float width, float height, bool isStatic)
        {
            this.Texture = texture;
            Body = BodyFactory.Instance.CreateRectangleBody(PhysicsSimulator, width, height, 1f);
            Body.Position = position;
            Body.IsStatic = isStatic;
            this.Geom = GeomFactory.Instance.CreateRectangleGeom(PhysicsSimulator, Body, width, height);

this.Width = width;
            this.Height = height;
        }

public void Draw(SpriteBatch spriteBatch, Camera camera)
        {
            if (Texture != null)
                spriteBatch.Draw(Texture, Body.Position - camera.Position, Color.White);
        }
    }

I was looking for something like: this.Geom.OnCollision+= et....   But it is not an event..

Here is my Player-class code:

public class Player // todo: how to check if player stands on ground?
    {
public Sprite Sprite { get; set; }
        Input input = new Input(PlayerIndex.One);
        public Level Level { get; set; }
        public bool IsOnGround { get; set; }

public Player(Level level, PhysicsSimulator PhysicsSimulator, Vector2 position)
        {
            this.Level = level;
            this.Sprite = new Sprite(PhysicsSimulator, null, position, 32, 64, false);
            HookKeys();
        }