Ragdoll doesn't work

Topics: User Forum
Dec 14, 2009 at 2:27 AM
Edited Dec 14, 2009 at 2:28 AM

Hi guys, I'm new to this engine, and I've been having a few problems.  I've been trying to use the ragdoll demo.  I copied all the necessary parts from the SimpleSamples, and then modified it to work in my project.  This has just been to get a basis of where I could go from there.  I got the the ragdoll to display correctly, but now it's just stuck there in space.  I don't know if there's something I'm doing wrong or something simple I forgot to do (gravity)?  Thanks for the help!

Dec 14, 2009 at 1:41 PM
Edited Dec 14, 2009 at 1:42 PM

¿Did you set the gravity for the physics simulator?

Edit: I guess by your message you didn't :) Check the initialization code for the physics simulator in the demo.

Dec 14, 2009 at 11:35 PM
Edited Dec 14, 2009 at 11:35 PM

Thanks for the response.  This is in my Initialize() method. 

PhysicsSimulator = new PhysicsSimulator(new Vector2(100f));  //wasn't really sure what to do here

I gather that the new Vector2 is the gravity, but I don't know if that's right, or if I'm doing something else wrong.

Dec 15, 2009 at 9:39 AM

Should work like this:

PhysicsSimulator = new PhysicsSimulator(new Vector2(0, 100f));

The Vector2 indicates the gravity amount and in which direction; you can set the gravity "horizontal" to the right for example with new Vector2(100f, 0).

Also, I assume that your bodies and geoms are created using this same PhysicsSimulator: 

BodyFactory.Instance.CreateRectangleBody(PhysicsSimulator, ...
Jan 6, 2010 at 1:51 AM