How can I find what game object a colliding Geom is a member of

Jan 30, 2010 at 11:31 AM

This may seem like a fairly amature question, but it's got me stumped.

Geoms and bodies are great for physics, but I use a GameObjectClass for most things. In my game, the geom and the body are members of a GameObjectClass, which deals with most game interactions.

My problem is that the OnCollision code gives you two Geoms and a contact list, but no clear way to go higher in the chain. At the moment, I find what GameObject is involved in the collision by looping through every GameObject and comparing it's geom to the two involved in the collision. Once there's a match, I've found which GameObject has collided, because its geom is one of the two involved.

It works fine, but there's got to be a better way to find what class a geom belongs to than looping and comparing, right? Or should I add a member to the geom class in farseer called "owningGameObject" or some such. As a rookie, I'm a bit reluctant to alter the farseer code itself.

Jan 30, 2010 at 5:14 PM
Edited Jan 30, 2010 at 5:16 PM

I solved this by using a dictionary. In the collision event I find the object registered to the Geom in the collision.

Here's my implementation, but it's just because it fit my own design:

public sealed class SpriteMap : Dictionary<Geom, ICollidable>
    {
        private static readonly SpriteMap instance = new SpriteMap();

private SpriteMap()
        {
        }

public static SpriteMap Instance
        {
            get { return instance; }
        }
    }

ICollidable is just:

public interface ICollidable
    {
        Geom Geometry { get; }
    }

And in my base sprite-class's initialize method:

SpriteMap.Instance.Add(Geometry, this);

I think you get the idea.

Joni

Feb 1, 2010 at 6:42 PM

This is how I do it: I have an abstract 'PhysicsEntity' class, which looks like this (shortened version):

public Body Body { get; protected set; }

public Geom Geom { get; protected set; }