Body Removal Help

Dec 3, 2007 at 9:45 PM
Hi,

I'm brand new to XNA and Farseer, and so far they've both been amazing. So thank you all for your contributions to this community :)

I've having a really strange issue removing bodies & geometries from the physics simulation and I just don't understand what's going on. Allow me to paint a basic picture of the situation. I'm working with 3 main classes: Player (a game component), EnemyManager (also a game component), and Enemy. I create a PhysicalSimulation object in my Game1.cs class, and that object gets passed to the player, the enemy manager, and every enemy that's created by the enemy manager.

The problem is this: EnemyManager has a reset/generate method that removes all current enemies from the game and replaces them with a new set (used when transitioning to a new level). But when I remove a set of enemies, not only do I get a nasty memory leak, but it messes with the reference to the physicalSimulation somehow because all future enemies no longer collide with the player. This thing is blowing my mind!

Let me show you the code I'm working with. Here is the removal/loading method in Enemy Manager:

private void LoadSystem(Vector2 playerSpawnPoint)
{
player.Position = playerSpawnPoint;

foreach (Enemy enemy in enemies)
{
//Remove enemy from physical simulation -- memory leak and collision issues are a result of this line
enemy.Remove();
}

enemies.Clear();

//I tried this after browsing the forums, but still didn't fix it
physicsSimulator.Update(0);

Texture2D enemy1 = game.Content.Load<Texture2D>("enemy1");
Texture2D enemy2 = game.Content.Load<Texture2D>("enemy2");
Texture2D enemy3 = game.Content.Load<Texture2D>("enemy3");

//Add enemies
enemies.Add(new Graviton(physicsSimulator, enemy1, new Vector2(700, 300), 4000));
enemies.Add(new Graviton(physicsSimulator, enemy2, new Vector2(200, 500), 3000));
enemies.Add(new Graviton(physicsSimulator, enemy3, new Vector2(1000, 250), 5000));
}