How can I change the size of a geom dynamically?

Topics: Developer Forum
Jul 5, 2010 at 1:14 PM
Hi. I'm very new to Farseer and at the moment am loving it. I am making a platforming game. At the moment I have platforms that when stood on shrink in size and when left alone for two seconds grow back to their original size. They visually shrink and visually grow, however the geom bounding box doesn't seem to get updated. As I said I am new to Farseer so I expect the solution is a very simple one. Thanks for your time in reading this post and any guidance given I'll be thankful for. Below is a snippet of the code I use to shrink the platform. private void Shrink() { if (width > 0 && height > 0) { Vector2 pos = body.Position; body = BodyFactory.Instance.CreateRectangleBody(width, height, mass); body.Position = pos; geom = GeomFactory.Instance.CreateRectangleGeom(body, width, height); width -= RateOfChange; height -= RateOfChange; } else { width = 0; height = 0; isShrinking = false; } }
Jul 6, 2010 at 5:46 PM
Edited Jul 6, 2010 at 5:46 PM

I am not a developer of Farseer in any way. Just a user like you. From what I know about Farseer, dynamically changing the size of a geom will cause many glitches. I decided to do a little test of it with this code:

Vertices verts = physicsGeom.LocalVertices;

for (int i = 0; i < verts.Count; i++)
                verts[i] *= .99f;

physicsGeom.LocalVertices = verts;