Curved Shapes and Edge Shapes?

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Sep 2, 2010 at 5:57 PM

I've had an idea for a while about arbitrary curved shapes and curved edge shapes, but I'm not really an expert on implementing low level things in a physics engine, so I figured I'd throw the idea out there and maybe someone with more expertise could comment on the feasibility of it or a possible implementation. 

Basically the problem I am having is the same problem that we had with circle shapes in FP2, which is that we were approximating a curved surface by tessellating the surface into a polygon shape. This caused subtle problems because the circles would sometimes "hop" or otherwise not interact smoothly with other bodies. We solved this problem for circle shapes as a special case, but we still have the same issue when it comes to arbitrary curved surfaces, even when it's a circle shape interacting with the curved surface.

So, for example, this would be very beneficial in a pin-ball game. In a pin-ball game, you have a circle shape (the ball), and you want that physics body to VERY smoothly interact with curved parts of the pin-ball table. For example, if you hit the ball and it goes into a curved ramp, it should either slide or roll through the ramp and not bump off a "corner" edge and stall mid-way due to the tessellation of the ramp shape (or edge shape). The amount of tessellation needed to get acceptably smooth interactions in this scenario is very high and hurts performance.

Now, to be clear, my idea is still an approximation of curved shapes (or edge shapes). The basic idea is that, instead of just tessellating a Curve into a polygon shape, we also keep the Curve information and use it to make adjustments to collisions, contact points, penetration correction forces, friction forces, etc.. based on the curve. The engine detects collisions/penetrations in the same way it did before, with the tessellated shape.

So, here are a few pieces I think we'll need: