VS 2010 + XNA 4.0 + Farseer 3.0

Oct 10, 2010 at 1:34 PM

Hello there, as in the topic. I got visual studio 2010 (profesional, i am a student), xna 4.0 and just downloaded this engine. I know its stupid but i dont know how even use it in my projects. I added to references the dll and nothing happens. Can anyone write soultion ? Thx

Coordinator
Oct 10, 2010 at 1:38 PM

Farseer Physics Engine 3.0 is not compatible with XNA 4.0. If you need support for XNA 4.0, you should download the latest version from the source control.

There are some samples you can run inside the samples folder. The HelloWorld samples shows you the very basics on how to implement FPE in your project.

Oct 10, 2010 at 2:07 PM
Edited Oct 10, 2010 at 2:28 PM

Fine, so maybe another question. When creating new project i cant choose XNA 3.1 (which i got installed), ady ideas why ? It would be easier to take lower xna for me cuz probably i wil not use any new functions.

EDIT: I can take xna 3.1 but in vs2008. Why not in 2010, damn.

Oct 10, 2010 at 5:30 PM

I'm guessing xna 3.0/3.1 is only supported in vs2008, and xna 4 is only supported in 2010.

Oct 10, 2010 at 9:05 PM

I don't know if it's possible because first was vs2010 and then xna 4.0 so... somethings weird here.

Oct 10, 2010 at 9:26 PM

Yeah you can't use xna 3.1 with VS 2010 as far as I know, only 2008. Kinda weird but oh well.

Oct 14, 2010 at 8:39 AM

With Tuesday's announcement, it looks like XNA 4 is now going to be pushed fairly quickly.  How soon until an official release of FP which is XNA 4 compatible?

Coordinator
Oct 14, 2010 at 8:43 AM

It sounds like a lot of people are using XNA 4.0 already. I will probably push a release once XNA 4.0 has been released - I hope to update the core of the engine first tho.

Oct 14, 2010 at 8:47 AM

Thanks Genbox.  I was just trying to decide if I should try to upgrade to VS2010/XNA4 soon or not.  You're the man.

Oct 14, 2010 at 5:34 PM

Wake up. XNA 4.0 was released at 16 september.