Question about drawing textures on fixture position

Topics: User Forum
Jan 10, 2011 at 9:47 PM
Edited Jan 10, 2011 at 10:09 PM

Hi,

First of, i'm pretty new to XNA so please bear with me.

I searched the discussions and found some half helping answers. I'm using the latest version with Windows Phone 7.

As like a lot of users i have some fixtures in my world. I want to use some textures to display on the positions of these fixtures.

Somehow i'm unable to do this, and i don't understand why, i've spent 2 days on this already and am at a point where i wanna stop using the physics engine. This can't be that hard? I can't get this info from the samples, i can't find it.

I'm aware of the fact that textures are drawn in pixels and fixtures are in meters.

Can someone give me the most simple example where a fixture (rectangle or circle or ellipse) is created in the loadcontent method and a texture is drawn in the draw method on the position of the fixture for Windows Phone 7?

That's all i want.

Thanks in advance.

Jan 11, 2011 at 9:11 AM

Ok i have found some info.

Everyone else facing this, this post is very helpful:

http://farseerphysics.codeplex.com/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=224681

Developer
Jan 11, 2011 at 11:27 AM

If you are using the spritebatch and work with a fixed resolution you need to define some scale which fits to your game. Farseer likes it's fixtures to be between 1 and 10 meters. So if your main character sprite is e.g. 64x64 pixels you could define 1m to be equal to 64px. The spritebatch origin is in the top left corner and the positive y axis points down. So set your gravity to a positive value (e.g. (0f, 10f), if you want objects to fall to the bottom of the screen.