Getting forces to work?

Topics: User Forum
Feb 4, 2011 at 6:24 PM
Edited Feb 4, 2011 at 6:28 PM

So i'm just learning to use the engine, and i'm starting off with a simple helicopter with a thrust and is affected by gravity.

I've forgone the world gravity and opted to simply apply a force based on a mass value.

my code for applying the thrust is this

//creates thrust value based on thumbstick
player.thrust = -1000 * (padState.ThumbSticks.Left.Y+1);

//local variable to hold value of thrust based on rotation of helicopter
Vector2 force = new Vector2((float)(Math.Cos(DegToRad(player.rotation + 90)) * player.thrust), (float)(Math.Sin(DegToRad(player.rotation + 90)) * player.thrust));

//applies thrust force
copter.Body.ApplyForce(force, copter.Body.Position);
//applies gravity force
copter.Body.ApplyForce(new Vector2(0, player.mass*10), copter.Body.Position); //player mass is 100

//rotates helicopter
copter.Body.ApplyAngularImpulse(padState.ThumbSticks.Right.X/8);

My problem is that it moves too slow. The forces don't seem to accumulate, theres no acceleration, the helicopter just moves at a seemingly constant speed. And I've tried increasing the forces but that just makes it move at a faster constant speed.

Constant force should create acceleration, so I must be doing something wrong. What should i do?

Coordinator
Feb 5, 2011 at 12:29 AM

You are probably not scaling your values to meters instead of pixels.

Feb 5, 2011 at 2:16 AM

How do i do that?

also, I don't know if thats it cause when I set the thrust ridiculously high (like 1000000) it just moves at a faster constant speed rather than accelerating.

Coordinator
Feb 5, 2011 at 2:05 PM

It is probably the most asked question on the forums, so instead of repeating myself, I would recommend you search the forums.

The samples also show you how to scale the world using a Camera2D class.

Feb 7, 2011 at 6:55 PM