Problem with object independent mass values

Topics: Developer Forum
Mar 10, 2011 at 7:05 AM

Hi everyone,

I am very new to the Farseer Physics Engine, so hopefully this is not a silly question. I created two PhysicsObject and I want to let them fall down the screen at different speeds. The way this should work, as far as I understand is that I just give both of those objects a different mass, and the engine will do all the difficult parts.

For some reason I always get the same result that both objects fall down the screen with the same speed. I was wondering if the density has to be converted to Sim units as well, but that didn't change anything. Any idea what I am doing wrong? My world is defined as world = new Vector(0,20f); and here are the objects:

o1 =

new PhysicsObject(world, new Vector2 (500, 0), 60, 100, 1000f, blackTex);

o2 = new PhysicsObject(world, new Vector2 (600, 0), 60, 100, 0.01f, blueText);

The PhysicsObjects looks like this:

public PhysicsObject(World world, Vector2 position, float width, float height, float mass, Texture2D texture)
  this.texture = texture;
  this.origin = new Vector2(texture.Width / 2, texture.Height / 2);
  this.width = width;
  this.height = height;

SetUpPhysics(world, position, width, height, mass);

protected virtual void SetUpPhysics(World world, Vector2 position, float width, float height, float mass)
  fixture =
FixtureFactory.CreateRectangle(world, ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(width), ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(height), ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(mass), ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(position)); BodyType.Dynamic;
  fixture.Restitution = 0.3f;
  fixture.Friction = 0.5f;

public virtual void Draw(SpriteBatch spriteBatch)
  spriteBatch.Draw(texture, new Rectangle((int)ConvertUnits.ToDisplayUnits(body.Position.X), (int)ConvertUnits.ToDisplayUnits(body.Position.Y), (int)width + 1, (int)height + 1), null, Color.White, body.Rotation, origin, SpriteEffects.None, 0f);

Your help is much appreciated!

body = fixture.Body;