Platformer almost working / box collision help

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
May 19, 2011 at 10:09 PM
Edited May 19, 2011 at 10:13 PM

I am new to farseer and need a little help figuring out how to workout the last issue with my platformer code. I am keeping things as simple as possible so I am sticking with fixed rotation rectangles. Even the player is a fixed rotation rectangle.

The test game I'm making is a Bubble Bobble Clone. I am building it because I specifically want to get working the platformer aspects of it.Player movement and jumping through platforms.

Everything is almost working as is. It can detect weather or not the player can jump, and the player can stand underneath a platform and jump up through it to stand on it.

I have ran into two small problems that I have not been able to work out yet and I think they may be inter related.

A running preview is availible here http://www.createdbyx.com/page/Bubble-bobble-clone-not-working.aspx. The red dots you see appearing are the contact points passed via the OnCollision event so I can see where the collision points are actually registering at.

Here is my actor code ... 

public class Actor : Zider.BaseActor, CBX.Xna.Input.IObjectBinder
    {
        private float direction;
        private bool doJump;
        private bool canJump;
        private Body body;
        private bool isMovingRight;
        private bool isMovingLeft;
        private ZiderFarseerLib.SimulatorComponent simulator;
        private FrameworkElement element;
        float velocityHoriz;
        private bool canMove = true;
        private ContactVisualizer contactVisualizer;

public Actor()
        {
            this.contactVisualizer = new ContactVisualizer();
            this.contactVisualizer.RemoveOnSeparation = false;
        }

public ZiderFarseerLib.SimulatorComponent Simulator
        {
            get
            {