Cutting Textured Polygons

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jun 19, 2011 at 2:39 PM

Hello I'm a bit new to Farseer and upon taking a look at the cutting test in the TestBed started to wonder is it possible to cut textured polygons and if yes are there any tips on how to implement this
Thank you in advance.

Jun 21, 2011 at 12:58 AM

You will need to transform the world intersection points into texture space. I don't have time to give an example, but I'm sure you can find one on the internet.

Jun 21, 2011 at 1:11 PM

Thank you for the reply the thing is how do I easily differentiate the cut pieces of the polygon also didn’t have any luck searching.the question might be elementary or something but the thing is I’m a tad new so hehe.

Jun 22, 2011 at 10:59 PM

You would basically be writing a UV mapper. So I will break it down as best as I know. Please understand that I have not done this yet and I'm going on pure graphics programming knowledge.

1. When you initially set up your polygon you need to set the UV of each point. This will require an extra list of Vector2's.
  2. When you cut a polygon you'll need to feed the original polygon and each of the new polygons and the new points created to a polygon mapper function.
    1. Inside this function you'll need to transform the new points into texture space. I'm assuming they are already in local space.
    2. Now you need to find the edge that the new point lies on.
    3. Using that edges endpoints, interpolate the UV coordinates of those two endpoints. To find out what percent to interpolate to you'll need to find the distance between the two endpoints. And the distance between one endpoint and the new point. A little division and you'll know how far to interpolate your UV coords.