SamplesFramework Border algorithm

Topics: User Forum
Nov 1, 2011 at 8:06 PM

Hello,

I'm new to XNA and FPE. I used to develop minigames in java since a couple of years but I never used an physics engine before.

I decided to swap to C# as I read some articles about XNA. My first project with a view to learn XNA is an shooter.  In my opinion it is necessary to use a physics engine for such games.

On my way learing how to use FPE I stumbled on the Border class in the Samples given by this site. I don't understand all steps of this class.

namespace FarseerPhysics.SamplesFramework{
    public class Border{
        private Body _anchor;
        private BasicEffect _basicEffect;
        private VertexPositionColorTexture[] _borderVerts;
        private PhysicsGameScreen _screen;
        private World _world;

public Border(World world, PhysicsGameScreen screen, Viewport viewport) {
            _world = world;
            _screen = screen;

float halfWidth = ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(viewport.Width) / 2f - 0.75f;
            float halfHeight = ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(viewport.Height) / 2f - 0.75f;

Vertices borders = new Vertices(4);
            borders.Add(new Vector2(-halfWidth, halfHeight));
            borders.Add(new Vector2(halfWidth, halfHeight));
            borders.Add(new Vector2(halfWidth, -halfHeight));
            borders.Add(new Vector2(-halfWidth, -halfHeight));

_anchor = BodyFactory.CreateLoopShape(_world, borders);
            _anchor.CollisionCategories = Category.All;
            _anchor.CollidesWith = Category.All;

_basicEffect = new BasicEffect(_screen.ScreenManager.GraphicsDevice);
            _basicEffect.VertexColorEnabled = true;
            _basicEffect.TextureEnabled = true;
            _basicEffect.Texture = _screen.ScreenManager.Content.Load<Texture2D>("Materials/pavement");

VertexPositionColorTexture[] vertice = new VertexPositionColorTexture[8];