Farseer Physics Engine refactoring status

Coordinator
Aug 24, 2008 at 4:48 PM
Edited Sep 15, 2008 at 2:38 PM
Hi.

This discussion is being used to report to everyone what is being done to the Farseer Physics Engine. I'm not an official developer of the Farseer engine and have a lot of changes in my mind, that I want to implement in Farseer. The implementations will hopefully make sure that Farseer is continueing to be a easy to use, high quality engine for a lot of platforms.

I've compiled a list of things to do. This list will be updated as Farseer is evolving and new changes comes up.

High priority list:
1. Split the different platform specific code regions into seperate projects
2. Automated code cleanup by using tools
3. Change of codestyle to comply with Microsoft coding standards.

Current progress:
1. I've cleaned the mainstream code for all compiler statements to make sure it's platform clean. This means that the mainstream ONLY work on .net 3.0 and might not work on platforms such as XNA, Silverlight and Xbox. It will, however work in Winform, OpenGL, MDX and other platforms/libraries that uses vanilla .net 3.5.

2. Deleted and deactivated some code that was used for debugging. I've also deleted some work that was unfinished.

3. The project is now under source control. This makes sure that all changes to the code is completely reversible. Including the changes in listing 2.

Update 1:
I have manually checked each and every file for places where i can refactor and optimize. I've found some code redundancy that would greatly increase the simplicity of the code. One file even contained 69.7% redundant code.

Update 2:
I have finally created something that seems to work. ;) The mainstream code is now refactored and cleaned. I've tried to keep it simple while still minimizing code redundancy. I have not yet tested the code, I will do it as soon as I get the XNA 3.0 branch up and working.

Update 3: