Drawing a body made of polygons

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Apr 2, 2012 at 10:55 AM

Hi, 

I'm just a beginner in using Farseer, and I wonder what's the best function to draw a body on the screen which is made of polygons?

I used this piece of code to create polygons from a texture and create a body.

//load texture that will represent the tray
            trayTexture = Content.Load("tray");

//Create an array to hold the data from the texture
            uint[] data = new uint[trayTexture.Width * trayTexture.Height];

//Transfer the texture data to the array
            trayTexture.GetData(data);

//Find the vertices that makes up the outline of the shape in the texture
            Vertices verts = PolygonTools.CreatePolygon(data, trayTexture.Width, false);

//Since it is a concave polygon, we need to partition it into several smaller convex polygons
            _list = BayazitDecomposer.ConvexPartition(verts);
            Vector2 vertScale = new Vector2(ConvertUnits.ToSimUnits(1));
            foreach (Vertices verti in _list)
            {
                verti.Scale(ref vertScale);
            }

//Creating the body    
	tray = BodyFactory.CreateCompoundPolygon(MyWorld, _list, 10);

So now I have the body and the list of vertices. What function should I use to draw it?

Apr 2, 2012 at 2:47 PM

In order to draw anything from Farseer on the screen, you have to include the Debug view project in your solution. Check out this thread to use the Debug View.

http://farseerphysics.codeplex.com/discussions/275582

Apr 2, 2012 at 4:18 PM

Thanks, that was very useful but I don't quite understand this piece:

// calculate the projection and view adjustments for the debug view
            Matrix projection = Matrix.CreateOrthographicOffCenter(0f, _graphics.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Width / MeterInPixels,
                                                             _graphics.GraphicsDevice.Viewport.Height / MeterInPixels, 0f, 0f,