2D Physics Engine compared

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Oct 25, 2008 at 8:52 PM

I'm totally new to the world of 2D Physics Engines and so also to this forum. I need an engine for
 my 2D game engine and I'm trying to figure out which one is the best for my needs and experience.

What is the force and weakness of Farseer 2.0a compared to the other 2D Physics Engine available ?

Which one is the most advanced in term of features ? 
 Which one is the most performant on .NET / XNA ?
 Which one is the most simple to use ?
 What would be Farseer biggest limitations ?
 What would be Farseer biggest qualities ?

Any commercial / known titles using Farseer so far ?

The devil being in the details, I rather seek opinions and advices from more knowledgeable developpers.

Oct 25, 2008 at 10:00 PM
Edited Oct 25, 2008 at 10:12 PM
Hi. Welcome to our forums.

I've numbered your questions so it's easier for me to answer:

1. We are trying to be as simple as possible. We don't have a lot of high level functions because we try to make it easy and flexible. Some physics engines have very extensive editors, comprehensive libraries with readymade objects such as cars, people, bridges and others. We on the other hand, think that simplicity is the way forward and make sure that everyone can use our library.

2. Depends on how you build your game. Farseer physics 2.0 has great performance and can get an even higher performance, if implemented correctly. We are building a document containing tips on how to implement Farseer with the highest possible performance using pools, multithreading, chunking up landscape and a lot of other stuff.