mergine many shapes together

Topics: Developer Forum
Nov 27, 2012 at 2:41 AM
Edited Nov 27, 2012 at 2:49 AM

Hi All,

I am new to Farseer ,  I have a game to do with .

in the game I have a weapon that merges the game objects together(that contacts each other) , as instance , so when I hit two boxes they should merge and act as one shape .

I tried doing that with two ways , first adding fixtures and second my adding weld joint , it works fine when I try to merge two shapes , but when I have 3 objects , like 3 boxes when I merge them , their position change , they form another shape

here's the code am using for the weld joints :

for (int i = 0; i < objects.Count - 1; i++)
         {
               Body body1 = gameObjects[indices[(i * 2) ]].physicsBody;
               Body body2 = gameObjects[indices[(i * 2) + 1]].physicsBody;

Vector2 dist= body1.Position - body2.Position;

WeldJoint weldjoint = new WeldJoint(body1, body2,
            Vector2.Zero,dist);

world.AddJoint(weldjoint);
          }

the indices are an integer list for the objects contacting each other ,
containing number like 0,1,1,2 , so a weld joint must be created between objects with index 0 and 1 , and weld joint between the object with index 1 and 2

the problem :

before I merge them :

http://s7.postimage.org/tbmqxncnv/before.png

after I merged them

http://s7.postimage.org/q2cx4xdy3/after.png 

the box at the bottom just rotates and looks like in the pic

Coordinator
Nov 28, 2012 at 2:26 AM

A weld joint is a soft constraint and might cause trouble when forces are applied to the shapes it connects, or when they have too large a mass. I think your problem stems from the fact that you apply the joint on the center of the firstbody, to an offset (dist) of the other body.